Close this search box.


Dr. Chris Matheny president of FVTC

Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society will recognize FVTC President Dr. Chris Matheny as one of 24 college presidents with the Paragon Award for New Presidents during PTK Catalyst 2024, the Society’s annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 4-6, 2024.

The award recognizes new college presidents for their outstanding support of student success as well as championing an educational experience that creates pathways to degree completion, transfer options and employment.

To be eligible for this award, college presidents are new in their role, having served less than three years. Recipients are nominated by PTK students on their campus, making it a particularly meaningful honor.

“I am humbled to be selected as a recipient of the Paragon Award, especially because of the role our Phi Theta Kappa student members at Fox Valley Technical College had in nominating me for this honor,” Dr. Matheny says. “This award reflects both the College and our PTK students’ commitment to excellence in education and empowering others for future success. I am proud of the dedicated FVTC staff who work diligently every day to provide opportunities for our students who apply themselves every day in our classrooms, labs and fieldwork. PTK students are models for what successful students look like today and in the future.”

FVTC’s Beta Epsilon Omicron Chapter started in 1997 and 652 current students are members. Students will also travel to the annual convention to see Dr. Matheny receive his award in Florida.

Fox Valley Technical College, part of the Wisconsin Technical College System, offers more than 250 associate degree, technical diploma and other certificate programs. It serves more than 45,000 individuals annually — more than any other technical college in the state.