Close this search box.

Fox Cities Chamber Announces 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Winners to be recognized at January 26 Celebrate Fox Cities Annual Dinner

The Fox Cities Chamber has announced the recipients of its 2022 Lifetime Achievement Awards. These annual awards recognize individuals who embrace principled leadership, strategic thinking, balanced workplace values and an unrelenting pursuit of excellence. Each has a unique blend of vision, energy, perseverance and skill, demonstrating outstanding achievements in operating businesses as well as leadership in the community.

The 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are:

  • Gus A. Zuehlke Distinguished Service Award – This award is named in honor of Gus A. Zuehlke, a past Chairman of the Board of the Fox Cities Chamber. In the spirit of Gus’ passion for serving his community, this award honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions through leadership in business and service during his/her years as a Chamber member. This business leader has been a job creator through business endeavors and has made significant contributions as a driver of economic growth in the Fox Cities. The recipient of this award will have a $5,000 award/grant donated in his/her name to the charitable organization of his/her choice.

This year’s winner is Dennis Jochman – President and Co-Owner, Bechard Group, Inc. Jochman has been a leader in the community for most of his working years. He has been with Bechard Group, Inc. for 37 years, and has been co-owner for the past 17 years. His commercial real estate business is built on the platform of business growth in the Fox Valley, and service to others. His business has helped numerous businesses of all sizes find adequate facilities to relocate and also grow their businesses in the Fox Valley and throughout Wisconsin. His long-term involvement with the Fox Cities Chamber Ambassadors, Fox Cities Chamber Board of Directors the Fox Crossing Planning Commission, and his church, Saint Mary’s, Appleton, has made him a mentor to many, and a fixture in the community.

  • Joyce Bytof Exceptional Mentor Award This award goes to an individual who is proactive in the advancement of others by sharing time, talent and business experience for the purposes of promoting growth and opportunity in the Fox Cities community. This year’s winner is Marcia Erdman – Marketing Manager, First American/Evans Title, a role she has served in for 32 years.

Erdman is a very active community volunteer and has served with many organizations in the Fox Cities over the years, and especially enjoys working with the Menasha Rotary. She is passionate about Rotary because they encompass so many ways to give back and get involved, through local charities, community projects, schools and even internationally. Raising three children as also given Erdman the opportunity to volunteer with school, sports and church.

  • ATHENAâ Leadership AwardSponsored by Bergstrom Automotive, this award is given to a woman who has achieved the highest level of professional excellence. This individual contributes time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the Fox Cities community and actively assists others, particularly women, in realizing their full leadership potential. This year’s winner is Laurie Butz – President and CEO, Capital Credit Union. Butz has held senior leadership roles in HR, Organizational Development, Training, Sales Administration, Investments, and Insurance Services for profit and not for profit organizations including Community First Credit Union, Alta Resources, United Health Care and Associated Bank. She has a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from UW Green Bay, a master’s degree in Business Administration from UW Oshkosh and earned a three-year designation as Certified Chief Executive (CCE) through CUES. She is also a certified Six Sigma Green Belt through Juran Institute.  Most recently, UW Oshkosh, where she was an adjunct faculty member for over 10 years, selected Butz as the 2022 Beta Gamma Sigma honoree to recognize her achievements in business and exemplify her pursuit of wisdom. In November of 2022 she was also appointed to the Advisory Board of the Business College at UWGB.

Her commitment to community has been demonstrated through Board Chair, and or Personnel Chair roles for YMCA of the Fox Cities and United Way Fox Cities, and Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Fox Valley, as well as through management oversight of the Fox Cities Marathon. 

  • Business Leader Hall of Fame – The Business Hall of Fame Award is presented to a retired individual who has demonstrated personal and business success and is a role model for future generations. This year’s winner is Terry Timm – Senior Vice President Product Manufacturing and Operations, Thrivent Financial. Timm is recently retired from Thrivent after 39 years of service. During the final 10 years of his career, he served as a senior executive at Thrivent’s Appleton campus, where he held responsibilities of Chief Administrative Officer and SVP – Products and Operations. Timm also has 23 years of military experience, first enlisting in the Wisconsin Army National Guard in 1980. He spent most of his military career in infantry maneuver units where he served as Platoon Leader, Company Executive Officer and Commander of multiple companies, among other assignments.

Timm also enjoys serving the community via the board of directors for several area organizations. He currently serves as Chair, Fox Cities Performing Arts Center; Chair, Life Promotions/Lifest Music Festival; Immediate Past Chair, ThedaCare Health Care Systems; and the Bubolz Nature Preserve.

These individuals will be honored for their achievements at the Celebrate Fox Cities Annual Dinner on Thursday, January 26, 2023 at the Hilton Appleton Paper Valley Hotel in downtown Appleton.

Tickets are now available for the event, which also features a silent and live auction as well as entertainment by NEW Dueling Pianos. General admission is $150 for Fox Cities Chamber members and $175 for non-members.

Celebrate is made possible through the generous support of the following: Presenting Sponsors – Miron Construction, Johnson Financial Group, and ThedaCare; and ATHENAÒ Leadership Award Sponsor – Bergstrom Automotive. Additional event sponsorships are still available. For details, email Jim Wickersham, Senior Director, Investor Relations, at [email protected].

For more information and to register, visit https://business.foxcitieschamber.com/events/details/2023-celebrate-fox-cities-annual-dinner-17610 or call (920) 734-7101. For questions, email Aimee Herrick, Special Events Coordinator at [email protected].


About Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce

The Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce captures the energy of one of Wisconsin’s most dynamic regions and transforms it into innovative programs and services for its business members.  The Fox Cities Chamber serves all of the Fox Cities communities within the counties of Outagamie, Calumet and the northern portion of Winnebago.  The Fox Cities Chamber plays a leadership role in regional economic development efforts in Northeastern Wisconsin.  For more information, visit foxcitieschamber.com