Fox Cities Chamber Announces 2022 Excellence in Education Shining Star Award Recipients

Published Wednesday, March 30, 2022

The Fox Cities Chamber has announced its recipients of the 2022 Excellence in Education Shining Star Awards. Seven Fox Cities educators were honored, and four finalists were selected for Educator of the Year:

Excellence in Student Services Award: Gena Frey, UW Oshkosh

  • Excellence in Special Education Award: Jen VanDenEng, Appleton Area School District
  • Excellence in Career and Technical Education Award: Nathan Nolte, Fox Valley Lutheran High School
  • Inclusive Excellence in Education Award: Jan Koshalek, Tullar Elementary School
  • Excellence in Early Childhood Education Award: In Memory of Silia Hurula, Gerber Child Development Center
  • Excellence in K-12 Education Award: Jean Horst, Edison Elementary
  • Excellence in Higher Education Award: Jesus Smith, Lawrence University
  • Educator of the Year 2022 Finalists: Greg Forton, Hortonville High School; Ashley Rubens, Wrightstown Middle School; Scott Hertting, Neenah High School; Rebecca Whittle, Appleton West

The honorees were selected by a distinguished volunteer panel of Fox Cities education professionals. They will be publicly recognized over the next several weeks, including at the Chamber’s Excellence in Education Shining Star Awards Program at The Red Lion Hotel Paper Valley on April 5. Tickets for the event are available online at

Learn more about the awards online at

“The Fox Cities Chamber and Regional Partnership are committed to supporting and facilitating education and business partnerships that promote student success, workforce development and quality of life. We are thrilled to be able to honor Fox Cities educators through our Excellence in Education awards and recognize the key role they play in inspiring students at all levels, to prepare our future workforce and the next generation of leaders in our community,” said Becky Bartoszek, President and CEO of the Fox Cities Chamber of Commerce.