U.S. Department of Commerce Welcomes Additional Biden-Harris Appointees

Published Monday, June 14, 2021

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Commerce announced June 11 key appointments to lead the Department and its bureaus to create good-paying jobs, strengthen American businesses, and build back better and more equitably.

“We look forward to working with this diverse group of accomplished professionals to fulfill Commerce’s mission and advance the priorities of the Biden-Harris Administration,” said Chief of Staff Mike Harney. “We are thrilled to have their talent and expertise on our team as we continue empowering American workers and businesses to innovate, grow, and compete globally.”

New senior appointees and their roles are listed in alphabetical order by last name and office.

Office of the Secretary:  

    Liani Balasuriya – Director, Executive Secretariat
    Georgette Brammer – Director of Scheduling and Advance  
    Ronnie Chatterji – Chief Economist
    Aviva Feuerstein – Deputy Director of Public Affairs and Speechwriter
    Roosevelt Holmes – Deputy Director of Public Engagement
    Jennifer Kaplan – Senior Advisor, Private Sector Engagement
    Caitlin Legacki – Senior Advisor, Strategic Communications
    Jeremy Licht – Deputy General Counsel for Strategic Initiatives
    Laura O’Neill – Director of Public Engagement
    Jaclyn Portfilio – Policy Advisor
    Sree Ramaswamy – Senior Policy Advisor

Office of the Deputy Secretary:  

    Mira Patel – Senior Advisor
    Jason Rodriguez – Chief of Staff

Economic Development Administration (EDA):  

    Michele Chang – Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy
    Maria Messick – Special Advisor
    Molly Ritner – Chief of Staff

International Trade Administration (ITA):  

    Monica Gorman – Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing

Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA):  

    Miguel Estien – Senior Advisor   

National Telecommunication and Information Administration (NTIA):  

    Philip Murphy – Senior Advisor